Something in the Water

Something in the Water

A Novel

eBook - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
45
4
2
 …
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER A shocking discovery on a honeymoon in paradise changes the lives of a picture-perfect couple in this taut psychological thriller debut—for readers of Ruth Ware, Paula Hawkins, and Shari Lapena.
"A psychological thriller that captivated me from page one. What unfolds makes for a wild, page-turning ride! It's the perfect beach read!"—Reese Witherspoon (Reese's Book Club x Hello Sunshine book pick)
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY GLAMOUR AND NEWSWEEK • FINALIST FOR THE ITW THRILLER AWARD
If you could make one simple choice that would change your life forever, would you?

Erin is a documentary filmmaker on the brink of a professional breakthrough, Mark a handsome investment banker with big plans. Passionately in love, they embark on a dream honeymoon to the tropical island of Bora Bora, where they enjoy the sun, the sand, and each other. Then, while scuba diving in the crystal blue sea, they find something in the water. . . .

Could the life of your dreams be the stuff of nightmares?

Suddenly the newlyweds must make a dangerous choice: to speak out or to protect their secret. After all, if no one else knows, who would be hurt? Their decision will trigger a devastating chain of events. . . .

Have you ever wondered how long it takes to dig a grave?

Wonder no longer. Catherine Steadman's enthralling voice shines throughout this spellbinding debut novel. With piercing insight and fascinating twists, Something in the Water challenges the reader to confront the hopes we desperately cling to, the ideals we're tempted to abandon, and the perfect lies we tell ourselves.
Praise for Something in the Water
"Superbly written, clever and gripping."—B. A. Paris, New York Times bestselling author of Behind Closed Doors

"Deliciously dramatic."Entertainment Weekly
"Thrilling . . . the perfect beach read."PopSugar
"A dark glittering gem of a thriller."Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
"Arresting . . . deftly paced, elegantly chilly . . . [Catherine] Steadman brings . . . wit, timing and intelligence to this novel. . . . Something in the Water is a proper page-turner."The New York Times
Publisher: Random House Publishing Group

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
a
AMWayment
Jun 22, 2020

Erin is a documentary filmmaker and is engaged to handsome, successful, financial advisor Mark. The two have a nearly perfect relationship—each balances the other out, and is able to cheer the other up when down. Erin is creating a documentary about prisoners reintegrating into society after their release, when she takes a break and she and Mark leave grey-skied England for a dream honeymoon in Bora Bora.

Mark and Erin spend their days hiking, eating exotic meals, basking in the sun, a perfect honeymoon! Erin is even facing her fear of scuba diving to see the oceans with Mark. But after a big storm makes the waters cloudy, they are forced to change their dive location to a different island about an hour off the shore of Bora Bora.

And then, out in a boat in the middle of the ocean, they hear it....THUNK THUNK THUNK

There’s something in the water, and nothing will ever be the same again…
Suddenly the newlyweds must make a dangerous choice: to speak out or to protect their secret. After all, if no one else knows, who would be hurt? Their decision will trigger a devastating chain of events.

c
Cidherman
Jun 16, 2020

Entertaining and hard to put down, but... I feel cheated by the plot.

Reviewed in the United States on May 20, 2020

I am ambivalent about SOMETHING IN THE WATER. There are some really really good things about this story that would usually be an automatic 5 star rating for me. There were also a few problems or elements, i didn't care for, which is the reason for the four star rating.

The Good: The writing is excellent. The story draws you right in and this is the type book that you are thinking about whenever you put it down. It was always on my mind and I kept wanting to get back to it, motivated by my involvement in the story and my engagement with the character narrating the story. I even told my husband what was going on in the book i was reading. I don't do that very often . . .only when i am caught up in an interesting story.

Not so good: as much as i enjoyed the writing, the main character, and my total immersion in the story ... The plot that is central to the story, was ludicrous. It was entirely implausible, as were most of the side plots. I also hated the ending and the author never really explains the reasons and motivations (at least not in any satisfactory way) of some key players who are acting out of character. (That would be the character and personality that the author gave them and the reader expects). She owes her readers a bit more than she offered up in her conclusion.

Don't let me discourage you from buying SOMETHING IN THE WATER. If you read for entertainment more than you read for enlightenment, this book will grab you and keep you interested, really interested. It is a fun read without ANY pacing issues.

c
Cooper8888
Jun 06, 2020

For Feb 18 Tri Delta

2
2greyts
May 02, 2020

I started out thinking the story was familiar to me. Had I read it before? Did I see it on the news? Then, no, subtly, it was a whole other story. Kept me captivated, wavering between “how stupid”, “brilliant”, and, “I would have done the same thing.”

t
tammygfarmgirl
Apr 26, 2020

I was so impressed by this book! The author is a young British actress who appeared on Downton Abbey! She has written a twisty, unexpected thriller that I couldn't put down. The traditional unexpected ending was there, but it wasn't formulaic in the least. I would read more books by Cat in the future if she writes them.

j
Jenkskitten
Apr 02, 2020

A mystery of what a couple on their honeymoon does when they find an expected treasure. Makes you wonder how you would react given the same circumstances. Erin is definitely the main character as the author runs you through all her thoughts and choices. Nice page turning read while in lock down due to Corona pandemic. The first chapter is overly wordy and slow; but then the explanation begins building the thrill of what next.

k
karenmarks23
Feb 17, 2020

Like some other reviewers, I liked this book! The heroine is human and gets in over her head; she isn't a sleuth, makes some mistakes but gets other things right. Sometimes she "goes it alone" and you wonder what she's thinking, but then again what suspense novel doesn't have that heart-thumping, "don't open that door" aspect to it. It was a fun, page-turner of a book! It had intrigue, romance, relatable characters and it's written in a conversational, fast-paced style. I recommend this book.

CCPL_Carly Jan 20, 2020

Actress and debut author Catherine Steadman has crafted a pitch-perfect beach read with this summery thrill ride full of twists and turns. As Erin and Mark dig deeper into the truth of what they find in Bora Bora, they make one bad decision after another. Readers wanting to be immersed in a suspenseful page turner will enjoy this book's whiplash ending.

f
firebird770
Jan 03, 2020

This is not a book which was an enjoyable read. Everything seemed a second guess and gave the assumption that the central character was continually second guessing in the whole framework of the book. Stayed with it because of wanting to find out what happens to the characters but definitely not a book to be cherished.

n
NSole
Dec 12, 2019

Slightly suspenseful and like previous commenters mentioned, the main character isn't the sharpest. Some graphic, dark parts and I wasn't super thrilled with the ending.

View All Comments

Notices

Add Notices
c
coxkelsey72
Feb 27, 2019

Violence: Moments of violence with mildly graphic descriptions

c
coxkelsey72
Feb 27, 2019

Frightening or Intense Scenes: Some scenes described may be intense for readers who are sensitive to violence/death

c
coxkelsey72
Feb 27, 2019

Sexual Content: Mentioned, but no graphic descriptions

c
coxkelsey72
Feb 27, 2019

Coarse Language: Swearing and explicit language

Age

Add Age Suitability
n
NSole
Dec 12, 2019

NSole thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

c
coxkelsey72
Feb 27, 2019

coxkelsey72 thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

Quotes

Add a Quote
ReadingAdviser_Lori Jun 10, 2019

"You naughty girl. It's always the quiet ones, ain't it!"

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at DCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top