Breakfast With Neruda

Breakfast With Neruda

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Michael Flynn is just trying to get through his community service after he made the dumb decision to try to blow up his friend's car with fireworks--the same friend who stole Michael's girl. Being expelled and losing his best buddy and his girlfriend are the least of his problems: Michael has learned to hide everything, from his sick hoarder mother to the fact that he's stuck living in a 1982 Ford LTD station wagon he calls the Blue Whale. Then one day, during mandatory community service, he meets Shelly, a girl with a past, who's also special enough to unmask Michael's deepest secrets. Can he manage to be worthy of her love, a guy living in a car, unable to return to his chaotic and fit-to-be-condemned home? Shelly won't give up, and tries to peel back the layers of garbage and pain to reveal Michael's immense heart.
Publisher: Iola : F+W Media, 2016.
ISBN: 9781440592201
Branch Call Number: eBook
Characteristics: text file
1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc. - Distributor

Related Resources


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Dec 14, 2017

This book was one of New York Public Library's Best Books for Teens in 2016, and a Top Pick for Voices of Young Adult.

Nov 28, 2017

Fans of Tommy Wallach and John Green will like this book. It has adventure and some romance.


Add Age Suitability

Dec 14, 2017

Lauramoe3 thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over


Add a Summary

Dec 14, 2017

Everyone knows 18 year old Michael is cleaning the high school as community service after bringing fireworks to school with the intention of blowing up his best friend's car. What very few people know is Michael is also living in his car because his mother is a hoarder.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at DCPL

To Top