Lost Mountain

Lost Mountain

A Year in the Vanishing Wilderness : Radical Strip Mining and the Devastation of Appalachia

Book - 2006
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
A groundbreaking work of literary nonfiction that exposes how radical strip mining is destroying one of America's most precious natural resources and the communities that depend on it. The mountains of Appalachia are home to one of the great forests of the world-they predate the Ice Age and scientists refer to them as the "rainforests" of North America for their remarkable density and species diversity. These mountains also hold the mother lode of American coal, and the coalmining industry has long been the economic backbone for families in a region hard-pressed for other job opportunities. But recently, a new type of mining has been introduced-"radical strip mining," aka "mountaintop removal"-in which a team employing no more than ten men and some heavy machinery literally blast off the top of a mountain, dump it in the valley below, and scoop out the coal. Erik Reece chronicles the year he spent witnessing the systematic decimation of a single mountain, aptly named "Lost Mountain." A native Kentuckian and the son of a coal worker, Reece makes it clear that strip mining is neither a local concern nor a radical contention, but a mainstream crisis that encompasses every hot-button issue-from corporate hubris and government neglect, to class conflict and poisoned groundwater, to irrevocable species extinction and landscape destruction. Published excerpts of Lost Mountainare already driving headlines and legislative action in Kentucky. In Erik Reece, the mountains of Kentucky have found an eloquent and powerful spokesman in the tradition of Edward Abbey, Rachel Carson, Aldo Leopold, and Henry David Thoreau. Like the work of those writers before him, Lost Mountainwill stand as a landmark defense of a natural treasure-and a core part of our national identity-on the verge of extinction, and as the introduction of a mighty new literary voice.
Publisher: New York : Riverhead Books, 2006.
ISBN: 9781594489082
1594489084
Branch Call Number: 622.29 Reec
Characteristics: xv, 250 p. : ill. ; 22 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

l
lukasevansherman
Aug 07, 2017

"When they want you to die for profit they will let you know."-Wendell Berry
When most people hear Appalachia, they probably think bucolic forests, folk music, and scenic hiking. But there's something much darker and more destructive going on, which Erik Reece explores in this book, which mixes reportage, personal essay, and nature writing in the tradition of Edward Abbey and Wendell Berry, who contributes the introduction. Reece chronicles the profitable and harmful process of mountain removal, which literally takes the top off a mountain to uncover the coal underneath. As he makes clear, these mountains, forests, and streams that are harmed are never recovering. It's an impassioned and eye-opening book. Reece is from Kentucky, so he has a personal connection to the land. As our president tries to continue our dependence on coal, this is a necessary read.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at DCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top