Good Omens

Good Omens

The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch : A Novel

Book - 1990
Average Rating:
Rate this:
40
4
1
Two manic British guys, Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett, present an irresistible story of the world's end, in the tradition of Douglas Adams and Monty Python meeting Stephen King. TheApocalypse has never been funnier.
Publisher: New York : Workman Pub., c1990.
ISBN: 9780894808531
0894808532
9780060853969
Branch Call Number: F Gaim
Characteristics: xvi, 354 p. ; 24 cm.
Additional Contributors: Pratchett, Terry

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

l
Lady_Librarian
Nov 26, 2018

This was pretty good. I'm a huge Neil Gaiman fan but feel pretty meh about Terry Pratchett. I first read "The Color of Magic" by Terry Pratchett and hated it. Then I tried "Hogfather" which I liked a lot more. I feel like "Good Omens" reads more like Pratchett than Gaiman. Overall it was good though (and very British). Glad I read it before the tv show comes out next year.

b
BohoBookDragon
Oct 09, 2018

My absolute most favoritest book of all time. Pratchett and Gaiman are hilarious and the story moves quickly. A witty take on what would happen if angels and demons decided that maybe the Apocalypse isn't such a grand idea after all.

f
fionajay
Oct 08, 2018

Soon to be a tv show on Amazon!

NorthPlains_EricD Sep 26, 2018

Very possibly the funniest book ever written.

f
FabulouslyWeird
May 23, 2018

After a few years of my friends telling me to read this book I finally found it at my public library. I am really glad that I read it. It was right laugh out loud funny in some parts, and thought provoking in others as you imagined what the scenario would be in our own time. Is being good or evil simply a title? Or is it a label that some are more than others? It was a very good read and I highly recommend it. I would have to say I liked it better than the "Hitchhiker's" volume that I read a little while ago.

a
Aj4a
Apr 27, 2018

I did not find this book humorous. My 62 year old mom thinks it's funny.
I think the authors think they are funny.

The asinine footnotes were the worst.

I found this book rather boring.

I don't think big bang theory is funny or 2 and .5 men.
I am clearly in the minority, statistically, you'll probably like it.

SPPL_Anna Mar 10, 2018

This is one of my favorite novels of all time. Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman working together to write a humorous book about the apocalypse is pretty much the best idea ever, and I will recommend this to anyone whether or not they like fantasy, like humor, or have already read it. If you need a book to read, read Good Omens. If you've already read it, read it again!

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Nov 22, 2017

Such an original and well written novel. It can be slightly confusing and will have you flipping back and forth trying to make sense of things, but the plot is wonderful. You truly fall in love with the characters and the journey. It is hilarious and such a fun read. The characters and their scenarios are very quirky and interesting- something you will never have read before. This book is perfect for all ages as it doesn’t take itself too seriously but is still an interesting storyline. I am thinking of re-reading this book because of how much I enjoyed it the first time. Definitely recommend. Rating: 4.5/5
- @iloveunicorns of the Teen Review Board of the Hamilton Public Library

q
Question
Apr 24, 2017

Funny. Clever. Funny & Clever! It is a surprising and very good book. The part about "Dog" is hilarious. It is even funnier if you have watched the movie "Omen", the original one of course. And the part about the "plant" is just unbelievable good. Or unbelievable evil?

s
sgcf
Mar 30, 2017

This fantasy/satire made me laugh frequently at humanity’s foibles with its sarcastic British humour and turn of phrase. The authors brilliantly skewer hundreds of humanity’s failures. But there were so many characters to keep track of – angels, demons, the boy-son of Satan turned good, witch hunter, a good witch, apocalyptic horsepersons, chattering satanic nuns, and more. All had fully developed storylines which, after a couple of hundred pages, had me wishing for fewer extraneous details and I found my interest waning in the last 200 pages. Too bad, because it was witty and engaging in so many ways.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

v
VV12
Sep 08, 2015

VV12 thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

vv1 Mar 12, 2015

vv1 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

n
nopenope
Dec 24, 2014

nopenope thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

BECCA MICHELLE PINKSTON thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

d
daviesg6
Jun 13, 2013

well written, very funny, the authors show that they can work together and produce a work of genius. one of the funniest books i have ever read.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

  Loading...

Find it at DCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top