Good Omens

Good Omens

The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch : A Novel

Book - 1990
Average Rating:
Rate this:
51
6
2
 …
Two manic British guys, Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett, present an irresistible story of the world's end, in the tradition of Douglas Adams and Monty Python meeting Stephen King. TheApocalypse has never been funnier.
Publisher: New York : Workman Pub., c1990.
ISBN: 9780894808531
0894808532
9780060853969
Branch Call Number: F Gaim
Characteristics: xvi, 354 p. ; 24 cm.
Additional Contributors: Pratchett, Terry

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
n
Number10Horse
May 26, 2019

Raise a glass of champagne to Pratchett, Gaiman, Aziraphale, Crowley, the Them, and the rest of this nutty crowd. Another book I read at least once a year.

RainbowPonygirl1234 May 23, 2019

A fun romp through absurdity with many a pun and inappropriate joke. Not for the easily offended or particularly religious.

r
russosharon
Apr 27, 2019

Super fun for about 100 pages then you are tired of it and just want it to end.

_McGeek_ Apr 23, 2019

A dark comedy about the apocalypse? Armageddon? (whichever one has heaven, hell etc.)
that I found to be a light, fun read. Great banter between the two main characters as well. I feel like this will almost translate better to TV (which I'd rarely say about the book version), only because of all the crazy/hilarious action scenes and the insane cast.
I'd recommend if you're into dark comedy and sci fi for sure, or a fan of Pratchett or Gaiman.

l
Linyarai
Apr 11, 2019

I love Neil Gaiman, but I didn't love this. I really tried to, it just felt slow and jumpy to me. I couldn't get into the characters but I did find a few parts funny.

g
Geraldine9
Mar 28, 2019

Listen, you know that I like witch books and this one is no exception--highly recommended.

m
mhellwig
Mar 22, 2019

This book is hilarious, odd romp through the apocalypse. Worth a read!

v
violetkitty13
Feb 15, 2019

Who could have guessed the magic that is Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman? I'm so excited for the mini-series on Amazon Prime in May!

h
Havanacat
Jan 11, 2019

Plot. Hilarious dry-humour take on Armegeddon and humanity's ability to be good, bad, and ugly, often at the same time.

a
annaburger
Dec 30, 2018

plot- fantasy- a hysterical take on the apocalypse, flush with angels, demons, horsemen of the apocalypse, an antichrist and a whole bunch of prophecies

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability
m
mhellwig
Mar 22, 2019

mhellwig thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

b
bsmith2022
Feb 25, 2019

bsmith2022 thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

v
VV12
Sep 08, 2015

VV12 thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

vv1 Mar 12, 2015

vv1 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

n
nopenope
Dec 24, 2014

nopenope thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

BECCA MICHELLE PINKSTON thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary
m
mhellwig
Mar 22, 2019

An angel and a demon try to stop the apocalypse since they enjoy life on earth too much to destroy it in a war.
This book is a fantastic read for those who enjoy British humor with a side of the occult. Both fans of Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett will find something to love about the story.

d
daviesg6
Jun 13, 2013

well written, very funny, the authors show that they can work together and produce a work of genius. one of the funniest books i have ever read.

Quotes

Add a Quote
m
mhellwig
Mar 22, 2019

"The Power Cable (Nebraska) Evangelical Choir launched into "Jesus Is the Telephone Repairman on the Switchboard of My Life," and almost drowned out the sound of the rising wind."
Page 247

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

  Loading...

Find it at DCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top