The Life Below

The Life Below

Book - 2021
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2

Perfect for fans of The Illuminae Files and The 100, in this heart-racing sequel to The Final Six the teen astronauts must figure out the truth about Europa before it's too late.

It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a fellow Final Six contestant, behind on a dying Earth. Now she doesn't know who to trust.

The International Space Training Camp continues to dodge every question about its past failed mission, and Naomi is suspicious that not everything is as it seems on her own mission to Europa. With just one shot at Jupiter's moon, Naomi is determined to find out if there is dangerous alien life on Europa before she and her crew get there.

Leo, back on Earth, has been working with renegade scientist Dr. Greta Wagner, who promises to fly him to space where he can dock with Naomi's ship. And if Wagner's hypothesis is right, it isn't a possibility of coming in contact with extraterrestrial life on Europa--it's a definite, and it's up to Leo to find and warn Naomi and the crew.

With questions piling up, everything gets more dangerous the closer that the mission gets to Europa. A storm threatens to interfere with Leo's takeoff, a deadly entity makes itself known to the Final Six, and all questions the ISTC has been avoiding about the previous mission get answered in a terrifying way.

If the dream was to establish a new world for humans on Europa...the Final Six are about to enter a nightmare.

Publisher: Harpercollins Childrens Books 2021
ISBN: 9780062658982
0062658980
Branch Call Number: FIC
Characteristics: 320 p. ;

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
m
Meena2103
Nov 13, 2020

The life below was a good book but I'd really hope the ending was more clearer. Naomi's brother appeared suddenly on the last chapter of the book and it didn't make sense. Wish there was a little more explanation though. There were still some parts I didn't understand and wish it were more clearer and things just came out of nowhere. But it is still a good book and entertaining to read. (In a good way).

m
midori_hon
May 28, 2020

IMO there was a drop off in quality from 'the final six' to this sequel such that it almost felt like this was written by someone else. was a planned duology expanded into a series?
strange occurrences without explanation, plot holes even for YA science fiction, an ending out of nowhere, etc. left me feeling dissatisfied.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

  Loading...

Find it at DCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top